Posted by: shinyhappythings | Sunday, May 6, 2007

A better bagged grocery

In the interest of the environment, I have been trying to remember to take my reusable shopping bags with me when I go out. One of my canvas bags – that has faithfully served as my library book bag – is a freebie from a work convention I was at a few years ago… you know the kind. Big sponsor logo on one side and the convention name / dates on the other side. Well I have used it for a few years this way but have recently gotten fed up with its lack of esthetic appeal. 

So today when I thrifted an old cotten/linen tea towel – a souvenir of somebody’s trip to Western Australia, I realized I had found my answer. Initially I had intended to just sew it in place as it was, but I realized that it wasn’t going to cover both sides that way. In the end, I cut it up into 3″ squares and made a patchwork patch to cover the sponsor logo.

beforebag-vsm.jpg   After

I actually quite like the effect now – you can see that it was a map of sorts but the focus remains on the colours and pattern. It’s still a bit rough and ready but hey it’s only a grocery bag .

Responses

  1. Nice work! I’m trying to get into that habit too. It seems like a small thing, using my own bags instead of bringing endless paper and plastic ones home, but a doable one. Need more towels…

  2. excellent job….both the sewing and the effort to be a bit more “green.” i would also like to cultivate a collection of bags to bring to the market instead of bringing home a ton of plastic each week.

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I can’t find your e-mail address to reply to your comment. I love your bag!! I was just plain lucky to find that tea towel at VV. My thifting has been extremely unsucessful lately!!! I hope my luck turns around soon, *ahem*, after the “use what you have” challenge ends, of course. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

