Posted by: shinyhappythings | Monday, May 21, 2007

Eating close to home

In the last few months I feel that I have become much more aware of my food – where it comes from and how was it grown. While I am not by any stretch adhering to the 100 Mile Diet I certainly admire their principles and am definitely trying to keep my meat, fish, fruit and veg from within that radius.  Living in Vancouver, you can get a lot of pretty amazing food originating within 100 miles.

Salmon and chicken are staples in my diet and both are available locally, as is some pretty amazing beef, lamb and pork. For fruit we get strawberries for a tiny sweet window in June, and blueberreis and rasps for nearly the whole summer.

Pushing that limit out to 250 miles includes the Okanagan, with all the cherries, peaches, apricots, pears, apples and plums you could ever want to eat. 250 miles is a heckuva lot better than Chile, New Zealand and other places so much farther away. Now, I will probably never give up bananas or oranges but with a little forethought I can definitely avoid buying fruit from across the world that is available here in season. Every year I have canned peaches and pears, and frozen rhubarb, cherries, strawberries and raspberries.  This is a task that I am now realizing is a skill that I learned at my mum’s right hand as a kid. We often picked our own strawberries and mum always threatened to weigh us as we came out along with the pails of shiny berries since we ate so much while we picked. In recent years I have sometimes wondered why I keep putting away so much fruit – there’s no one to feed except me. And, as I have too recently discosvered, that is as good a reason as any! Never mind that the neighbours are sitting on patios sipping something cool while I slave over a  hot canner. I have enjoyed fresh peaches all through the winter, and have the added bonus of complying with the spirit of the 100 Mile Diet.

Today when I took some cherries out of the freezer I was struck by how pretty they were – there’s no mistaking that these are the real deal, not blocks of frozen unrecognizable mass from the supermarket. Think about how much you’ll welcome these through the winter – not made into a pie or a cobbler but eating them whole and spitting out the pits and thinking of summer.

cherries-sm.jpg

Responses

  1. A thougtful post (and those lovely cherries!) made me glad I stopped here!


Leave a Reply

Categories

