Posted by: shinyhappythings | Saturday, July 28, 2007

In time for the party

bannerdone2-sm.jpgI finished Aidan’s birthday present on the stroke of midnight. Now I have a really sore back from sitting at the sewing machine all night. How do you all do it? I love sewing and get so engrossed in it that I know I sit hunched over for far too long. Plus I’m on a dining room chair but I know most of you out there are doing the same thing. What’s your secret for saving your back?

I had a visit with the neighbours last night and all I heard from Aidan was Spiderman this and Green Goblin that. So I delicately inquired of his parents if he is still into Cars, as I had visions of my pressies being tossed aside in favour of a 10″ action man. No fear though, he is still very much into Cars. Whew. Hearing me ask about it brought a long discourse from Aidan about how Tow Mater is his favourite sometimes but mostly his favourite is Lightening McQueen. And how I can’t be Luigi because I’m a girl – I have to be Sally.  I, on the other hand, am not so into Cars any more. I have sewn enough of that bright red fabric to last me a life time I think.

The banner is done now and I’m relatively happy with how it turned out. There was a lot of eyeballing this or that measurement, and some crossed fingers on the way but overall it’s pretty good.   The bottom is not ideal – I’ve just zig-zagged a raw edge to make the bottom detail – mostly because of how the back is sewn on I couldn’t just sew this on the wrong side and turn it inside out.  The dowel in the top is about an inch too short. It’s recycled from a 2006 calendar that my mum was throwing out.

The pillow I would do again… maybe one of my friends needs a Lightening McQueen pillow… use up my stash. This banner, not so much. I’ll have to charge a fortune before I’ll do this one again. Good job his name wasn’t Alexander… I’d have wimped out and shortened his name to Al.

Fifteen hours to the party – this is the earliest I’ve finished a hand-made present before a deadline. That’ll leave me plenty of time tomorrow to can those plums. Finally.

Responses

  1. […] it out on paper. I cut it out of muslin and modified it some more. Then I cut it out of some leftover Lightning McQueen fabric and backed the quilt sandwich with rip stop nylon.  And then, just […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

